District Court

Attn: Idaho Supreme Court Response to COVID-19 Emergency

On March 13, 2020, Governor Brad Little entered a Proclamation and declared a State of Emergency in response to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) emergency in the State of Idaho. In light of this measure and to protect the health and safety of court employees, elected officials, and the general public, and under Article V, Section 2 of the Constitution and the inherent powers of the Supreme court, hereby provides the following guidance to judges and orders the following measures to be implemented from Monday, March 16, to Friday, April 10,2020:.

Please click here for information regarding Governor Brad Little's Order

Governor's Proclamation

ISC Logo

Kootenai County is one of five counties that make up Idaho's First Judicial District. The other four are Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, and Shoshone Counties.

The two main court buildings for Kootenai County are located in the Courthouse Complex at the corner of Government Way and Garden Avenue in Coeur d'Alene. 


Deputy court clerks, downstairs in the Justice Building, process all citations, community service enrollment, applications for a public defender, protection orders and filings for all criminal and civil cases.


There are seventeen judges in Idaho's First Judicial District. For more information about jurisdiction and election of the judges, as well as contact information, see the Clerk/Judge Directory.

State of Idaho

The state of Idaho is divided into seven judicial districts, each with an Administrative District Judge who is chosen by the other district judges in the district and a Trial Court Administrator (TCA) who is selected jointly by the Administrative District Judge and the Administrative Director of the State Courts.