News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: May 22, 2023

Property Tax Distribution Video

Property Tax Video Image

Please click here for a very short video explaining property tax distribution in Kootenai County.

Kootenai County collects property tax dollars for approximately 45 taxing districts. However, Kootenai County only keeps the property tax related to its own Kootenai County functions. Counties must provide State mandated services from most of their portion of the property tax dollars.

As example in this video, we used an anonymous CDA resident’s property tax breakdown. Kootenai County is around 22 percent of the property tax bill. This Post Falls resident, Kootenai County is roughly 19.96 percent, This Rathdrum resident is 20.05 percent. This percentage is used to provide the services the State of Idaho requires a County to provide. Mandated services such as the Sheriff’s office, the Court, the Prosecutor’s office, and the Jail.

The other taxing districts set their own budgets and receive the taxes levied against your property. Kootenai County has NO say in the budget process of other taxing districts, (with the exception of EMS in which Kootenai County shares responsibility in the budget process with local cities). Each taxing district will hold their budget hearing. Budget Hearings are always open to the public.

Find out where your property tax dollars please click here.

Facebook Twitter Email