Rural Collection System

Rural Site Locations

Kootenai County operates 12 rural residential sites for collection of household refuse. The intention of the rural sites is to provide service to those rural areas of the county that do not have private collection or other disposal facilities available locally. The rural sites are not for disposal of any commercial waste. This system is designed and contracted to collect only household refuse generated in Kootenai County. Homeowner's solid waste fees are being used every time a commercial business uses the rural system for disposal.

Rural Collection

Prohibited Materials

Prohibited materials at these sites include, but are not limited to: 

  • Appliances
  • Batteries
  • Carpet
  • Construction Materials
  • Furniture
  • Large Bulky Items
  • Liquid Waste
  • Petroleum Products
  • Tires
  • Wood or Wood Products
  • Yard Waste (Greater Than 96-Gallon Can or Equivalent)
  • Any Other Hazardous Materials

We ask that these materials be disposed of at either the Prairie or Ramsey Transfer Stations.


If you witness a violation of the posted regulations at the rural sites, including commercial disposal, please contact the Kootenai County Sheriff's Department at 208-446-1300. If you can provide a description of the vehicle, a license plate number, type of material dumped and date it occurred, there is a better chance of finding the violator.

Cardboard Recycling

Cardboard recycling is available at the following rural sites: 

  • Athol
  • Chilco
  • Mica Flats
  • Sun Up Bay
  • Worley
  • Harrison Junction

Separation of Materials

Separation of recyclable materials is an important aspect of waste diversion.  Our transfer stations offer a variety of recycling options.  Please see Recycling for more information on recycling opportunities available.