It shall be unlawful for any person to operate any type of vessel or watercraft on the public waters within Kootenai County, Idaho in a negligent manner. Idaho law requires that any operator of a vessel involved in an accident or collision, report the accident or collision to the Sheriff’s Department immediately; provided that property damage exceeds $1,500 or there is death or personal injury or persons missing.
No Wake Zone (five miles per hour) on Lakes: Within 200 feet of shoreline, dock, pier, breakwater or person in the water.
No Wake Zone on Rivers: 100 feet
Adult supervision is required when an operator of a boat or other vessel is between the ages of 10 to 14 unless the motor is 15 horsepower or less.
Children aged 14 and under must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket when they are aboard a vessel 19 feet long or less when the vessel is underway or under power. This applies to manually propelled boats as well as motorboats.