Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Visit our Development page to find documents pertaining to leasing.
View our Contact Us page for staff information and other contacts.
Yes, please visit our online payment portal to make your payment online.
The Coeur d'Alene Airport does not have commercial service at this time. The closest airport with commercial service is Spokane International (GEG). http://spokaneairports.net/
If you'd like to change your mailing address for county assessment notices and tax bills, please click this link.
If you'd like to file for a homeowner's exemption, please click on this link.
The Homeowner's Exemption is a program that reduces property taxes for individuals who own and occupy their home as their primary residence. This is done by reducing the net taxable value of the home and up to one acre of land. Beginning in 2021 the maximum homeowner's exemption reduction increased to $125,000 and will remain that amount until the legislature changes it.
To qualify for this exemption you must own and occupy the home as your primary and current residence. You can file an application any time AFTER you purchase, move in, and make the home your primary residence.
If you'd like to fill out a homeowner's exemption application, please click here.
Property are budget driven. This means that all property values could stay exactly the same and property taxes could still increase due to of budget increases.
Property taxes are the principal source of income for cities, counties and special-purpose governments like schools, libraries, cemetery, fire, and other taxing districts. The county Treasurer sends and collects the tax, then distributes it to these local governments. At the Assessor's Office, our job is to make sure homes and businesses are valued correctly. Under Idaho Code 63-205, our assessed value must be the same as the actual market value of that property as it is on January 1st of each year.
Budget divided by property value equals tax levy rate
Example: $42 million / $13 billion = .003230767
Properties are generally served by more than one tax district, so the levies of all the tax districts serving your property are added together. The geographical areas in each county having a common group of tax districts is called a Code Area. The levy for this Code Area is shown in the table below.
The taxable value of each property is determined:
Individual Tax bills are calculated: taxable value mulitplied by levy rate equals tax amount.
Example: $70,000 times 1.4062635% equals $984.39
The collection of unpaid balances owed to certain agencies, may be added to your property tax bill. If you have questions regarding an amount charged by an agency to your property tax bill, please contact that agency. See Idaho Code 50-1008.
Only property that exists on January 1st is taxed on the regular property tax roll that year. New construction is added to our records and is taxed using the occupancy roll. The amount of the occupancy tax is the value of the structure(s) prorated from the month it was first occupied or used to the end of that year multiplied by the levy rate.
A home is built on an existing property. It's completed and occupied in July. The assessment notice that is sent out in June that year will not include the value of that home. Thus, the tax bill that is sent out in December will not include taxes for the home. A separate assessment notice that includes only the value of the home is sent out the beginning of the following year. Then a separate tax bill for just the home is sent out approximately two months later. The following year the value and taxes for that home will be included with all of the other property on that parcel.
See Idaho Code 63-317.
The Assessor's Office has plat maps covering all properties in Kootenai County. They are available for your viewing at our office from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays. The maps are filed by township, range, section, and quarter section (northeast quarter, northwest quarter, southwest quarter, or southeast quarter) and provide parcel numbers needed to obtain parcel information.
The maps are also on the website. "Then select the township/range combination, the section, and then quadrant (quarter section). If you do not have this specific information, you can use the large wall maps at our office to narrow your search.
The full sized plat maps may be purchased at the Assessor's Office at 451 Government Way in Coeur d'Alene. The maps measure approximately 18 inches by 24 inches and cost $2 each. When requesting a map, please specify the quarter section, section, township, and range of the map. The Assessor's Office can help you identify the map you wish to purchase.
You may also purchase a black and white map of Kootenai County from the Commissioner's Office. This map measures approximately 36 inches by 45 inches and costs $30.
There are other maps available for purchase from the Kootenai County Recorder's Office:
Please view a listing of the codes (PDF) and their meanings.
You can search by owner, address, parcel number, or alternate identification number (AIN) on the County website.
In addition to ownership name, mailing address, and possible location address, other information available on the website and at the office includes, but is not limited to, legal description, acreage of the parcel, assessed value, homeowner's exemption, timber and agricultural classifications, and property classifications.
Refer to the lower third of your Assessment Notice to the section entitled "Budget Hearing Information." The column on the left lists the Taxing Districts in which your property is located. The second column from the right lists the phone numbers for each district. The right-hand column provides the date and time for the budget hearings.
The Assessor's Office also receives a complete list of the Taxing Districts from the Auditor's Office. We can provide you the mailing address and name of the contact person for each district.
For more information about taxing districts, contact the Auditor's Office at:451 Government WayCoeur d'Alene, ID 83814Phone: 208-446-1000
For more information on taxing districts, view our informational brochure (PDF).
There are a variety of situations in which the ownership of a property or name on the property might change. These include, but are not limited to, sale of property, death of one of the owners, addition of owners, removal of owners, and foreclosure on a property. Circumstances can vary so widely that we cannot describe every situation here.
The Assessor's Office is not able to provide legal advice to owners or potential owners on how to handle a change of name/ownership. Therefore, we recommend that you contact an attorney to advise you on the procedure.
If you think that you have all the documentation needed to enact a name change, please bring it directly to the Assessor's Office. A mapping specialist will review the material to see if it is sufficient for us to process a name change.
Each situation involving a question of acreage or change in the acres is different and must be examined individually by a mapping specialist.
Acreage amendments need to be researched and calculated. Additional information supplied by the property owner may help in this regard. Please inform the Mapping Department of any surveys or description changes to your property that would be helpful in determining the proper acreage for any given parcel.
For more information contact the Land Records Department in the Assessor's Office.
Each situation involving a change in boundaries is different and must be examined individually by a mapping specialist.
Changing the boundaries of properties may involve deeds for lot line adjustments between neighbors. A title company or surveyor can assist in the creation of the necessary documents to complete the lot line adjustment. A survey may be needed to comply with the requirements for State mapping standards.
The Assessor's Office cannot provide legal advice or assist you in the creation or amendment of documents or surveys.
Please refer to the instructions on the back of the form, "Statement of Intent to Declare Manufactured Home to Real Property." Obtain a form called a "Statement of Intent to Declare Manufactured Home to Real Property" from the Assessor's Office. A Deputy Assessor signs the form verifying that the land and home are under the same ownership.
The owner then contacts the building department located within their jurisdiction (Kootenai County for properties in the County outside any city limits; otherwise, Coeur d'Alene City Building Department, Post Falls City Building Department, etc.) for inspection to verify the home is set according to Idaho Code 63 to 304.
The owner then has his/her signature notarized and returns the completed "Statement of Intent" form, along with the original title to the manufactured home, to the Recorder's Office to record both documents. The Recorder's office will return the original "Statement of Intent" and original title to the owner. Taxes for the manufactured home must be prepaid if there is an existing assessment.
After recording, the owner takes the original "Statement of Intent" form and original title (no copies) to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV forwards the documents to the Idaho Department of Transportation in Boise, and this office will eliminate the title for the manufactured home.
The owner must first prepay the current year's property taxes on the manufactured home. A mover will not hook onto the home for transport unless the owner provides the receipt from the Treasurer's Office showing that the taxes are prepaid.
Please notify the "Mobile Home" Department in the Assessor's Office of the change of location and/or mailing address for Assessment Notices.
The title is the legal ownership. Obtain a form from the Assessor's Office. The current year's property taxes on the home must be prepaid. The new owner takes the Treasurer's prepaid tax receipt to the Department of Motor Vehicles to have the title changed.
If the manufactured home is your primary residence that you are occupying, apply to the "Mobile Home" Department of the Assessor's Office for the Homeowners Exemption.
Taxable personal property consists of items used commercially, such as
It also includes items used commercially for convenience, decoration, service, or storage. Please contact the Assessor's Office with specific questions.
All personal property in Idaho, unless expressly exempt, is subject to assessment and taxation. Forms for your use in listing of personal property are available from the Assessor's Office.
The County Assessor is required to assess property that is not declared. The assessment is estimated based upon the best information available. For more information, contact the Assessor's office.
Personal property is assessed at retail market value. This value includes shipping and installation costs. Several methods are used to arrive at the value. Depreciation tables, sales information, cost guides, and other resources are used in this process. For more information, contact the Assessor's office.
The Assessor does not determine tax amounts. The amount of taxes is determined by the budgets of the taxing districts in which the personal property is located. For more information, contact the Assessor's office.
If you sell or close your business during the year, you should contact the Assessor's office as soon as possible. The Assessor will explain how the assessment will be handled.
For more information, contact us at 208-446-1526.
For more information contact us at 208-446-1526.
After this information, lay out your blue print for what you want your property to look like and what type of crop want to be producing in 10 to 20 plus years. Next, plan out the management activities that are going to be initiated to accomplish your goals, both short-term (3 to 5 years) and long-term (10 to 20 plus years).
Remember one plan can cover multiple contiguous parcels or acres of the same ownership as long as their individual differences (if any) are identified within the plan and on the map. For more information, contact us at 208-446-1526.
Absolutely, as long as there are still 5 or more treed acres remaining after 1 acre is removed for the home site, and they are or can still be managed as a timber crop. The 1 acre will be valued as an improved home site and the remaining 5 or more acres will continue to be classified as timber.
Yes. For example, if you have a 10-acre parcel that has an area of forestland and an area that you farm, you can put 5ac into the timber exemption and 5 acres into the agricultural exemption.
You cannot, however, have both exemptions on the same piece of ground. For example, if you have 10 treed acres, and you graze cattle throughout the trees, you will have to choose either the grazing or the timber exemption. Keep in mind that in an instance such as this, if you choose to go into the grazing exemption and at some point decide to harvest some of your trees, you will have to pay a 3% yield tax on whatever you make from the mill.
No. The amount of acreage that qualifies for grazing is based on how much of your parcel is fenced and is being actively grazed. There is no way to know where and how many bees are “grazing” and if they are truly using your parcel or your neighbors.
No, you do not have to re-apply annually. The land remains in the program for as long as a landowner actively manages it as agricultural land, whether or not it produces crops or is in rotation. When land is removed from this program, it is then assessed at full market value. The landowner is not required to pay back taxes on the difference in value between full market value and the lower taxable values placed on the land while it was in the program. If your parcel is less than 5 acres you are required to provide proof of income annually by April 15th.
If you have a private, 501(c)(3)non-profit corporation whose land is used for wildlife habitat, or a private, 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation whose land is under an active conservation easement/agreement, this land may qualify for an exemption similar to that of our agricultural exemption. Look over Idaho Code 63.604 and our “ADDITIONAL INFORMATION” tab for more details and the forms necessary to apply.
Our KCEarth Web Map tool allows you to see your property from an aerial view, overlaid with your property boundaries and other layers of your choice. If you are unsure how many acres your hay field is for example, you have the ability to draw a polygon around this area and it will provide you with that acreage.
Assessment notices are sent out every year at the beginning of June. If you are in fact receiving the exemption, your notice will read one of the following depending on your agricultural enterprise:
01 Irr ag – irrigated cropland
03 Non-irr ag – non-irrigated cropland
04 Irr grazing/meadow – irrigated pasture
05 Dry grazing – non-irrigated pasture
If the total acreage of your parcel is over five acres (5.01 ac. and over) you will fill out the OVER FIVE ACRES AGRICULTURAL APPLICATION. If your parcel is five acres or less (5.00 ac. and under), fill out the FIVE ACRES OR LESS AGRICULTURAL APPLICATION. Both applications can be found by clicking here.
The amount of acreage that qualifies for the grazing exemption is based on how much pasture is completely fenced and ready for livestock, and is currently being used or is in an active grazing rotation at the time of inspection. If you are unsure, use the measuring tool on KCWebMap.
When property is accepted into the agricultural program, it is classified as dry cropland, irrigated cropland, dry grazing, or irrigated grazing. There are a number of different assessment rates that apply to the land according to its ability to produce crops or grazing grasses. The value is calculated by multiplying the acres in the program by one of these rates, which are lower than the per acre rates for full market value, to obtain the taxable value. These rates are based on the income approach (potential income from the land), are provided by the State Tax Commission, and change each year. This program does not provide a true exemption but a reclassification according to the land's agricultural use. For more information on your savings, call the Timber and Agricultural Department 208.446.1526 or email us.
Questions regarding these two programs can be answered by visiting the following links:
Conservation Reserve Program
Farm Service Agency
Landowners who participate in one of these programs are eligible for our agricultural exemption provided they include an up-to-date contract with their application.
You are required to show one of the following: copies of income tax returns with Form F-4 attached copies of cancelled checks. If you are unsure, the Timber and Agricultural Department 208.446.1526 or email us.
Contiguous means being in actual contact or touching along a boundary or at a point, except no area of land shall be considered not contiguous solely by reason of a roadway or other right-of-way.
You can find this information by searching your name or address in our Parcel Information Search webpage. Here you can find your deed, plat maps, AIN # and Parcel #.
In order to qualify for the exemption you must agree to have your parcel inspected by the agricultural appraiser to ensure compliance. Your phone number or email is required at initial application to allow the appraiser to give you notice prior to coming out and inspecting. This information is not public and will only be used for inspection purposes, information on accessing your parcel or if there are any problems or questions regarding your exemption.
If the grazing ground is timbered or there are small areas of timbered ground included in the acres classified as cropland, the landowner will be required to pay a 3% yield tax on timber harvested and delivered to a mill. The agricultural rates per acre do not account for potential income from the trees. The total taxable value depends upon the species of trees and the quantity harvested (by the thousand board feet). Yield tax bills are processed bi-annually.
The first-half billing covers the period of January 1st – June 30th. Bills are mailed in October and are due December 20th.
The second-half billing covers the period of July 1st – December 31st. Bills are mailed in March and are due June 20th.
Call the Timber and Agricultural Department 208.446.1526 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) serves as the governing body for County government, with final budget authority for all County departments. Additionally, they oversee the daily operations of departments that are not directly under the authority of the other six elected officials in the County. The BOCC meet in a public meeting forum each Tuesday to take official action on County business, and conduct Planning & Zoning Deliberation meetings each Thursday morning.
The Board also sits as the Board of Equalization to consider property assessment appeals and as the Board of Canvassers for the purpose of canvassing the election returns of all precincts within the county.
The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) sits as the Board of Equalization (BOE) at times designated by Idaho Code 63-501 to consider tax exemption applications and property assessment appeals. Application forms for tax exemptions can be on our exemption page; Property Tax Exemption forms may be downloaded here.
The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) holds over 300 meetings each year on a wide variety of topics. Most meetings are held between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
Official actions related to contract approvals, bid openings, resolutions or ordinances, expense approvals, advisory board appointments, and other items requiring signature approval are considered at the Business Meeting each Tuesday at 2:00 p.m. Planning & Zoning deliberations are held each Thursday at 9:00 a.m.
Other public meetings on a variety of subjects are held several times each week, as needed to conduct the business of the county. View the agendas and minutes for more information or visit our calendar page.
The majority of BOCC meetings are open meetings, meaning that the public is allowed - and encouraged - to attend the meeting and hear the deliberations and decisions of the Board. However, certain meetings (or portions of meetings) are closed to the public. These include discussions such as personnel considerations, land acquisition negotiations, and meetings with legal counsel. Closed sessions are conducted without the public present for the discussion; any decisions resulting from a closed session will be held during an open session.
Meetings can be requested by phone at 208-446-1600, or by using a Meeting Request Form. Due to public records law, it is necessary to provide the requested information concerning meetings before a meeting can be scheduled.
Idaho Code 31-702 requires that a person reside within the county for one year prior to election, and in the district for which they are seeking office for 90 days prior to election. The commissioners serve as a board, requiring a quorum of two members for decisions. Find more information on the Board of County Commissioners page.
Visit our Advisory Boards page for more information. Questions about membership requirements may be emailed to the Board of County Commissioners.
Kootenai County Ordinance Number 174-A, Section 3.(s), requires a kennel license in circumstances where a person maintains five (5) or more dogs, six months of age or older. Download a kennel license application (PDF) or by call us at 208-446-1600.
Tax exemption applications must be received at the Commissioners' Office no later than 5 p.m. on the 4th Monday in June of each year. Applications are available on our Forms page, or by calling 208-446-1600.
Idaho Code allows for appeal of the current year property value to the Board of Equalization until the 4th Monday of June each year. Appeals must be filed on the form provided by the County Commissioners, which may be requested via email, or by calling 208-46-1600. Find more information on our Property Assessment Appeals page.
County Commissioners have authority to waive delinquent taxes and/or penalty and interest in circumstances where a temporary hardship is found to exist. Applications may be obtained through the Commissioners' Office at 208-446-1600.
The County Treasurer maintains a listing of properties that have been taken to tax deed, and did not sell at public auction. Once these properties have been through the auction process, the County may accept sealed bids from individuals interested in purchasing the property. The most recent list of properties that have been taken to tax deed may be viewed on the Treasurer's Property Tax Sale page.
Information about current openings at the County and job application forms may be obtained from Human Resources. They are also available at the Information Center, located on the main floor of the:County Administration Building451 Government WayCoeur d'Alene, ID 83814
The State Department of Labor is located at 600 N. Thornton Street in Post Falls. You can reach their office by phone at (208) 457-8789 or email email@example.com.
(The Department of Labor is a state office and is not associated with Kootenai County.)
Several components are considered when determining whether or not a parcel is eligible to receive a building permit. There are some questions you may want to consider:
For more information, contact Community Development at 208-446-1070.
The areas within the County have different zoning classifications. If you are able to provide the Building and Planning Department with either a parcel number or serial number, we will research your zoning classification. For more questions, contact Community Development at 208-446-1070.
Similar to determining zoning, the Building and Planning Department has several Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM), these map out several sections of the County which may or may not be located within a flood prone area. If you provide a planner with a parcel number, a flood zone determination will be given to you. Contact Community Development at 208-446-1070 for more information.
The Building and Planning Department does not have that information. This information can be obtained from the Panhandle Health District.
In rare instances, the Building and Planning Department will have that information. Another source for this information is the Assessor's office or your deed. If your property has been surveyed, you should be able to locate the corner monuments with a metal detector. If the property has not been surveyed, it may be necessary to hire a surveyor to accurately locate the property lines.
If your parcel number begins with a letter, you are a city resident and you would call the city for planning and zoning issues. Bayview is the exception and the County has jurisdiction. All other parcel numbers are in an unincorporated area of the County. For more information, contact us at 208-446-1070.
Some zones within the County allow duplexes. Another option may be the approval of an accessory living unit, provided your lot meets the requirements set out in the Zoning Ordinance. If your property is located over the Rathdrum Prairie Aquifer, a minimum of ten acres is required. Please consult the Planning Department regarding your specific situation.
Manufactured homes constructed prior to June 15, 1976, must obtain rehabilitation Certificate of Conformance prior to application of a building permit. As well, in the Restricted Residential and Agricultural Suburban zones, manufactured homes must meet specific Class A criteria outlined in the Rules and Definitions portion of the Zoning Ordinance. Contact Community Development at 208-446-1070 for further questions.
In order to subdivide land, usually you must go through a platting process. Exemptions to the platting process are very limited. Currently two options exist for the subdivision of land: (a) minor subdivision or (b) major subdivision. A planner can help you determine which option is best for your situation. The only zone that prohibits land division is the Agricultural zone. Contact Community Development at 208-446-1070 for more information.
A Code Enforcement officer is on staff and shares duties between the Planning and Building departments. If you have concerns about a potential zoning violation, contact the Planning Department to begin an investigation.
This includes Magistrate Judges.
1. File a C-1 (Political Treasurer Appointment) form through the Secretary of State's Campaign Finance Portal on or before officially announcing your intentions to run, or designate yourself as treasurer on your Declaration of Candidacy form.
2. File a Petition of Candidacy or pay a filing fee with the City Clerk during candidate filing.
3. File a Declaration of Candidacy with the City Clerk during candidate filing.
4. File all necessary Campaign Disclosure forms on time using the Secretary of State's Campaign Finance Portal.
School Trustee Zone Candidate
North Idaho College Trustee
Taxing District Candidate
*Petition of Candidacy and Declaration of Candidacy forms are available through the taxing district you are filing with or the Elections Office.
Candidates running for Statewide, Legislative, and other State-level Offices file with the Secretary of State's Office in Boise. Candidates running for County Office file at the Elections Department at 1808 North 3rd St, Coeur d'Alene. Candidates running for office in a specific taxing district must file with the specific district, however petitions of candidacy must first be certified by the elections department.
Under new Campaign Finance guidelines, all candidates must either appoint themselves as treasurer for their campaign, or they may appoint someone else using a C-1 form. Upon receiving or expending $500, candidates are required to create a Campaign Finance account through the Secretary of State's Campaign Finance Portal and to file monthly Campaign Finance Disclosure reports during the year in which the Election for the office they are seeking is taking place.
Current candidates and officeholders with open reporting are required to file annual reports in non-election years.
For more information, contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030.
You may email or fax completed Declarations of Candidacy for our review, but filing the notarized Petitions of Candidacy must be done in person. If you are unable to bring your Petition in person please notify us of the situation and who will be bringing in your Petition. The Elections Department seeks to obtain your contact information at the same time; that information is not included on the Declaration form. Contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
For County Candidates, we need a mailing address so that we may send you your certificate of Election once elected. For all other candidates, we need your information to keep you posted on any important election related information. Also, if you want constituents to be able to contact you, the information is displayed on our website. Contact us at 208-446-1030 for more information.
Yes, your name, address, phone, email or website, Treasurer's name (where applicable) and their contact information.
All candidate filing forms and candidate disclosure forms are available at the Elections Department or on our website. A limited amount of registration cards and absentee ballot request forms can also be requested from the Elections Department. We also highly encourage candidates to utilize the State of Idaho's online registration and absentee request portal available at the State of Idaho elections website.
Yes, you need to request the information using the Voter Information Request Form (PDF). Contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
Fill out and submit the Voter Information Request Form (PDF) requesting the list of voters who are receiving absentee ballots for the current election. This list is sent by email on a regular basis throughout the time when ballots are being mailed.
The Elections Department staff conducts a Logic and Accuracy test in the weeks prior to the Election to ensure that the ballot counting machines are programmed and running properly. This test is open to the public.
This office is located at 451 Government Way, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, on the second floor, also known as the "main floor," of the Administration Building, next to the old County courthouse.
Phone: 208-446-1880Fax: 208-446-2177
Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., except recognized holidays.
Shelly Amos, Manager, is the administrator of County Assistance.
Yes, Idaho Code Chapters 34 and 35. Contact us at 208-446-1886 for more information.
This is an emergency assistance office for Kootenai County residents only to apply for the following types of assistance: Medical, dental extractions, rent, utilities, heat sources, and burial or cremation. For more information, contact County Assistance at 208-446-1886.
Go to the office to get additional, more detailed information and to pick up the paperwork and schedule an appointment if appropriate. The application process to determine eligibility requires completing an application, submitting various documents, and attending a scheduled interview.
Your appointment will be rescheduled.
Thirty (30) consecutive days (proof required). For more information, contact us at 208-446-1886.
Pursuant to Idaho Code 31-3504(4), upon receipt of an application for medical, dental, or prescription assistance, an automatic lien is placed on all present and future real and personal property of the applicant. For more questions, contact us at 208-446-1886.
Yes. An application for non-emergency medical services shall be filed ten (10) days prior to receiving services from the provider. An application for emergency necessary medical services shall be made any time within thirty-one (31) days beginning with the first day of the provision of necessary medical services from the provider. Call us at 208-446-1886 for more information.
Yes. Monthly payments only. Call us at 208-446-1886 for more information.
No. In Idaho the Motor Vehicle and Driver's License offices are completely separate offices. The County Assessor's Office operates the Motor Vehicle Division, and the County Sheriff is in charge of the Driver's License Division. These offices are located next to each other for your convenience. Please pay close attention to your selection when getting in line or making an appointment on QLESS. We can not honor an appointment made for the Driver's License Office.
If you put a copy of the bill of sale/title in the back window this suffices as a 72-hour temporary registration. Please come into the DMV office as soon as possible to transfer the title and get registered.
You will need to bring the title, all current owner ID’s, and the vehicle with you for a VIN inspection.
If you have a loan on your vehicle and do not have the title, you must bring:
A confirmation text and email containing detailed information about your appointment will have been sent to you when you made the appointment. Please check your records for this communication.
In general, you will need:
If the vehicle has an out of state title please bring the vehicle with you so that we can do a vin inspection. Vin inspections can also be performed by a member of law enforcement.
Please renew your tags online using ITD’s Vehicle Registration Renewal service available by clicking here. This online service makes renewing your vehicle registration simple, safe and convenient. If you need to change your address you must submit this form and have it processed by ITD prior to renewing your vehicle registration.
Here is a link to our DMV page for making an appointment. In addition to this, we are open daily for walk-ins.
Please utilize the registration status checker.
You can renew these at both the DMV locations, or you can visit Idaho Parks and Recreation and renew online.
You can register vehicles in Kootenai County at either:Coeur d’Alene Department of Motor Vehicles451 Government WayCoeur d’Alene, ID 83814
Post Falls Motor Vehicles Office120 E Railroad AvenuePost Falls, ID 83854
Generally, service hours are 8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Both motor vehicle licensing locations provide vehicle registration and titling service between 7:15am - 4:00pm Monday thru Friday, except Holidays or special occasions (ITD system events, staff training, etc...). The QLESS system will automatically not accept appointments once all daily appointment slots have been filled. Title work can be time consuming and must be initiated prior to 3:45pm.
Generally, any vehicle operated on public highways must be registered and titled. Also, various boats and watercraft are required to be titled. Any motorized boat used on Idaho waterways must be registered. Contact the Department of Motor Vehicles if you need to title or register.
Mobile homes and manufactured homes (usually need a pre-paid tax receipt from the Treasurer's Office)
All of the above, plus:
For more information, visit our DMV page.
For more information, contact the either the Coeur d'Alene or Post Falls Vehicle Licensing Office.
If you are in this situation, you must bring all of the following items to our office:
Contact either of the Kootenai County Assessor’s Office Department of Motor Vehicles:
Coeur d’Alene Office
451 Government WayP. O. Box 9000Coeur d’Alene ID 83816-9000Phone: 208-446-1580
Post Falls Office
200 E Railroad AvenuePost Falls. ID 83854Phone: 208-446-1590
The Idaho Transportation DepartmentDivision of Motor Vehicles - ITD DMV Website
3311 State StreetP. O. Box 7129Boise ID 83707-1129Phone: 208-334-8000
In general, if you have a serious medical condition you will not be excluded from Driving Under the Influence Court. You must be willing to fully disclose your condition and medical care to the treatment providers and Drug Court team. If you are taking a prescribed medication for your condition, you must continue to do so. Although we can be flexible and work around your condition, you must be able to engage in and complete treatment. For further information, contact us at 208-446-1218.
As a general rule, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court participants are expected to be drug free, including the unauthorized use of prescription medication.
If your doctor prescribes medication, you must bring in the prescription to your probation officer as well as the drug testing facility. You will then sign a release so that your probation officer can verify the prescription. While in Driving Under the Influence Court, you must use one doctor or one dentist and one pharmacy. We also require that you notify the medical professional of your addiction and that you request non-narcotic pain medications when a prescription is being recommended. For further questions, contact DUI Court at 208-446-1218.
You will be required to participate fully in the program to graduate from Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court. This will include:
Contact the Drug Court at 208-446-1218 for more information.
If you need to travel outside Kootenai County, you must first contact your probation officer to request permission to leave. As a condition of travel, the probation officer my require you to submit to a drug test prior to leaving and immediately upon return. Another condition may be that a treatment group not be missed. If a treatment group would be missed, further permission from your treatment provider would be required. Call Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court at 208-446-1218 for any follow-up questions.
If you do not comply with the treatment tasks, probation conditions, or do not attend mandatory meetings, the Judge will sanction your actions. Possible sanctions include but are not limited to:
Any further questions about sanctions should be directed to the Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court office at 208-446-1217.
You will be required to provide ongoing random urine samples to monitor your progress. A same-sex employee at the testing facility will supervise you when you give a specimen. Urinalysis reports are documented and available to the court. Any positive urine screens, tampered samples or refusal to provide a sample may be grounds for sanctions from the judge.
Poppy seeds are a concentrated form of opium and should not be eaten, Some "power drinks" contain pseudoephedrine and are not to be taken. Your recovery is important. Staying away from these items will not only give you clean tests, it will keep substances out of your system which may trigger old addictions.
You must be very careful not to ingest:
Contact us at 208-446-1218 for any other questions regarding drug screening.
You may relapse during this program, but that just means you have more work to do. It does not necessarily mean, however, that you will be terminated from the program. The Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court team understands that addiction is a devastating disease which consumes you. All we ask is that you are honest and tell us if it happens. That way the team can make sure the program is fitting your needs, or if you need something different or something more.
Contact the Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court Coordinator at 208-446-1218 for any concerns you may have.
You will be terminated from Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court if you do not comply with the treatment. Although a relapse is not absolute grounds for termination, a continual inability to meet your treatment goals will result in expulsion. There are several grounds for possible termination. These include:
You can reach out to Rita Wickham at 208-446-1218 for more information.
If you are terminated from Drug Court you will not get a trial. When you opted in to Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Court you waived your right to a trial and plead guilty to the felony offense. The matter will be referred to the assigned District Judge for sentencing. The Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Courtwill allow you to have an OSC, admit/deny hearing, mitigation hearing and/or be heard before dismissal from the program if you so request.
Some of the standard conditions of probation in Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Courtare as follows:
Contact the Drug Court Coordinator for more information.
In general, if you have a serious medical condition you will not be excluded from Drug Court. You must be willing to fully disclose your condition and medical care to the treatment providers and Drug Court team. If you are taking a prescribed medication for your condition, you must continue to do so. Although we can be flexible and work around your condition, you must be able to engage in and complete treatment. For further information, contact us at 208-446-1217.
As a general rule, Drug Court participants are expected to be drug free, including the unauthorized use of prescription medication.
If your doctor prescribes medication, you must bring in the prescription to your probation officer as well as the drug testing facility. You will then sign a release so that your probation officer can verify the prescription. While in Drug Court, you must use one doctor or one dentist and one pharmacy. We also require that you notify the medical professional of your addiction and that you request non-narcotic pain medications when a prescription is being recommended. For further questions, contact Drug Court at 208-446-1217.
You will be required to participate fully in the program to graduate from Drug Court. This will include:
Contact the Drug Court at 208-446-1217 for more information.
If you need to travel outside Kootenai County, you must first contact your probation officer to request permission to leave. As a condition of travel, the probation officer my require you to submit to a drug test prior to leaving and immediately upon return. Another condition may be that a treatment group not be missed. If a treatment group would be missed, further permission from your treatment provider would be required. Call Drug Court at 208-446-1217 for any follow-up questions.
Any further questions about sanctions should be directed to the Drug Court office at 208-446-1217.
Contact us at 208-446-1217 for any other questions regarding drug screening.
You may relapse during this program, but that just means you have more work to do. It does not necessarily mean, however, that you will be terminated from the program. The Drug Court team understands that addiction is a devastating disease which consumes you. All we ask is that you are honest and tell us if it happens. That way the team can make sure the program is fitting your needs, or if you need something different or something more.
Contact the Drug Court Coordinator for any concerns you may have.
You will be terminated from Drug Court if you do not comply with the treatment. Although a relapse is not absolute grounds for termination, a continual inability to meet your treatment goals will result in expulsion. There are several grounds for possible termination. These include:
You can reach out to Tanya Reynolds, Drug Court Coordinator for any further questions.
If you are terminated from Drug Court you will not get a trial. When you opted in to Drug Court you waived your right to a trial and plead guilty to the felony offense. The matter will be referred to the assigned District Judge for sentencing. The Drug Court will allow you to have an OSC, admit/deny hearing, mitigation hearing and/or be heard before dismissal from the program if you so request.
Some of the standard conditions of probation in Drug Court are as follows:
To be a voter in Kootenai County you must register with the Kootenai County Elections Department at 1808 North 3rd Street, Coeur d'Alene. You can register at the office, register online, or fill out a Registration Card online, and drop off or mail a filled out Voter Registration Card. Be advised that the Voter Registration Form cannot be emailed or faxed because Idaho Law requires your original signature. You will also need to satisfy Proof of ID and Proof of Residency requirements. For more information, please visit our Registration and Voting page.
Yes, you can find registration cards at the Department of Motor Vehicles and most City Halls or you can Register Online. Contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
You may fill out an absentee request at Vote Idaho to have a ballot mailed to you. Printable forms are available on our Absentee Voting page. Completed forms may be emailed, faxed, mailed, or dropped off at the Elections Department.
Yes, early voting at the Elections Department is available. Depending on the size of the election, early voting will occur for two to four weeks prior to the election. Early voting closes at 5 p.m. the Friday before election day.
Polling places may change permanently due to lack of availability at the current polling place and when precinct boundaries are moved. A polling place may also change temporarily due to construction, emergencies, or a schedule conflict. In any event written notice is given to all registered voters in the precincts affected. Look up your current polling place.
We check to see what facilities are available in a specific precinct. We then look for accessibility, parking, fees, and amount of space. Visit our polling place page for more information.
At the close of filing we post the candidates and their contact information on our website. Contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
Sample ballots are posted on our website 30 to 45 days before each election. What a voter is eligible to vote on is determined by where you live and the taxing district boundaries you live within. Call the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
There are three possible elections each year. The specific dates for the elections are posted on the homepage of our website. Contact the Elections department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
The County does not provide a voter's guide. We do offer candidate contact information and sample ballots, both in our office and on our website. The local newspaper tends to run information regarding candidates and/or issues on the ballot.
Military and their spouses and Overseas Citizens can use the Federal Post Card Application for registration and absentee voting. For more information, go to the Federal Voting Assistance Program Website or call the Elections Office at 208-446-1030.
No, absentee ballots must be requested on a calendar year basis.
No, absentee ballots must be to the Elections Department by 8 p.m. on Election Day for the ballot to be counted.
In Kootenai County poll workers receive training prior to every Election. Learn more on our Poll Workers page.
The Elections Department performs other functions related to elections such as the certification of Initiative and Referendum Petitions. There are always projects we are working on to better improve the efficiency of our department. Learn more on our Duties of the Elections Department page.
Party Affiliation change forms are available at the Elections Department and on the Party Affiliation page of our website. Completed forms may be emailed, faxed, mailed, or dropped off at the Elections Department. Additionally, voters may change their party affiliation online at voteidaho.gov
The Elections Department does not regularly mail out information. However, your mailing address can be requested by candidates and other entities, for political purposes, as it is public record per Idaho law. To prohibit this, you would have to be removed from our voter registration database. In order to cancel your registration, you would need to request in person or in writing. Contact the Elections Department at 208-446-1030 for more information.
Yes. All information on your voter registration card is public record with the following exceptions:
Party affiliation and voting history are also public record.
While we do keep track of what elections you vote in, we do not keep track of who or what you voted for, as all ballots are secret and not tied to your voter information.
Candidates and parties can request lists of registered voters, which can only be used for political purposes. If you have any other questions, comments, or concerns you can contact the Kootenai County Elections Department at 208-446-1030 or email us.
The program is focusing on connectivity of treatments to improve effectiveness of preventing an intense and severe wild land fire event. If your project is near or adjacent to fuel breaks, prescribed burns, or hazardous fuel reduction projects, it is more likely to qualify. Areas in the county where multiple land owners and partnerships exist will have the best eligibility for grant funding to assist in hazardous fuels reduction.
No. The program focuses on reducing surface and ladder fuels, which in the event of a wild land fire, promotes crown replacing fires that move rapidly and are difficult to contain. The program typically modifies a forested stand structure by cutting under story, suppressed vegetation up to 6 inch diameter material. The program would like to promote large fire resistant trees that are native to our ecosystem. The desired future condition in a forested stand is one where a fire event would burn on the surface, be easy to control, and not cause mortality to the over story tree species.
No. The program strives to promote treatments that are effective and makes sense in preventing a catastrophic fire event in our community. If it doesn't make sense to treat a portion of your land, by all means, treatment would not be prescribed.
Typical hazardous fuel reduction work on private property entails mechanically cutting surface and ladder fuels with a chainsaw or brush saw and placing the cut material in piles away from leave-trees. Piles are typically constructed to be about 4 foot high and 4 foot in diameter, covered with a sheet of plastic to retain an area of drier fuels in the pile. Piles are then typically burned in the fall months when the risk of fire spreading to adjacent fuels is really low.
Landowners must first contact their local fire district and obtain a permit to burn hazardous fuels. The fire district will direct you to coordinate your burning activities with the Department of Air Quality so as to burn when smoke dispersal is the best to minimize air quality effects. Fire managers typically use a drip torch that drizzles a gasoline (33%) and diesel (66%) mixture selectively out of the torch over a flaming wick, inducing intense fire that ignites material in the pile. Patience is often the best rule of thumb when burning piles, avoiding getting too many piles on fire and inducing mortality on desired vegetation and increasing the risk of control difficulties.
Kootenai County encompasses a fire regime that was once dominated by frequent low intensity wildfires. As our county increases in population these historic events have obviously been suppressed, deemed a public nuisance and damaging to values at risk (homes, etc). The vegetation responds and suppressed, shaded vegetation has continued in succession and often times provides a pathway for fire to burn from the surface to the crowns of trees with high rates of spread and large flame lengths. Hazardous fuels reduction modifies the fuel complex so that in the event of a wild land fire occurring, it burns with low intensity, small flame lengths, and slow rates of spread, easily managed by fire personnel. This keeps our values on the landscape and makes our county a safer place to live.
A desire to assist a vulnerable person, followed by a legal consultation may be your first steps. A petition is then filed with the Court. Completing a background check and online training (to become familiar with the rules of guardianship and conservatorship) are not optional, and will be ordered by the presiding Judge in your case. For more information contact the Guardianship and Conservatorship Monitor at 208-446-2147.
If a proposed protected person is unable to manage their finances, a less restrictive measure may be the use of a representative payee, who will make sure the protected person's money is managed properly, or setting up a co-signature account with the proposed protected person's bank. If a proposed person under guardianship is unable to provide for their own care and needs, a trusted person could assist them, they could assign a power of attorney, or if guardianship is believed to be necessary, a limited guardianship may be sufficient.
Even with a guardian or conservator in place, best practice is to allow the protected person to have as much opportunity to make decisions as possible. In most situations, it is best practice to attempt less restrictive measures prior to petitioning the Court for full guardianship or conservatorship. Contact us at 208-446-2147 for any further questions.
You could make legal counsel aware of the cost prohibition of petitioning for guardianship or conservatorship. Some law firms charge according to income, or it may be possible for the potential protected person to pay the legal fees. Call the Guardianship and Conservatorship Monitor at 208-446-1247 for more information.
No. A legal guardian is only responsible for insuring that the person under guardianship has adequate medical attention, shelter, food, and clothing. A Court appointed guardian is not responsible for the actions of the person under guardianship.
Guardians must file an initial report with the Court within 30 days of being appointed, and then once per year, on the anniversary of the appointment. Conservators must file an initial report within 90 days of being appointed, and then once per year, on the anniversary of the appointment. For more information, contact the Guardianship and Conservatorship Monitor at 208-446-2147.
The Court may review the reports directly; however, the Guardianship and Conservatorship Monitor (GCM), of the Judicial District the guardianship was filed and reported in, will also review the report. If there are questions about the report, or concerns, they will be brought to the presiding Judge of the case for direction, and a home visit, interview, or other follow up may be ordered by the Judge. All ordered actions of the GCM will be submitted to the Court and attached to the case file. Contact us at 208-446-2147 for more information.
Yes, provided the fees are consistent with current rates, in accordance with Idaho law and the order of the Presiding Judge, prior to charging fees.
A conservator's funds must never be co-mingled with the protected person's funds. Also, the protected person's funds are not ever to be used as a private lending institution for the conservator.
If you have any other questions, comments, or concerns you can contact the Guardianship and Conservatorship Monitoring Program office at 208-446-2147.
The Ramsey Transfer Station is located at 3330 N. Ramsey Road in Coeur d'Alene. The closest cross streets are Appleway (to the south) and Kathleen Avenue (to the north). Watch for the signs in the center median on Ramsey Road.The Prairie Transfer Station is located at 15580 W. Prairie Avenue in Post Falls. The closest intersection is N. Pleasant View Road and Prairie Avenue. The public entrance to the transfer station is just east of the intersection.
To be a voter in Kootenai County you must register with the Kootenai County Elections Office at 1808 North 3rd Street, Coeur d'Alene. You can register at the office or fill out a Registration Card online, and drop off or mail a filled out Voter Registration Card. Be advised that the Voter Registration Form cannot be emailed or faxed because Idaho Law requires your original signature.
The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) serves as the governing body for County government, with final budget authority for all County departments. Additionally, they oversee the daily operations of departments that are not directly under the authority of the other six elected officials in the County. The BOCC meet in a public meeting forum each Tuesday to take official action on County business, and conduct Planning Deliberation meetings each Thursday. The Board also sits as the Board of Equalization to consider property assessment appeals and various tax-related issues.
Juveniles are provided an opportunity for one collect phone call per day and are restricted to calling only parents, grandparents, legal guardians, probation officer, and attorneys. They cannot receive incoming calls.
Juveniles can only call numbers that have been approved and added by our staff to our system. Be sure to contact us so that we may verify your number. Follow the directions (PDF) to place a deposit on your phone number. You will not be able to find the Juvenile by name.
(Parents, Grandparents, and Legal Guardians only)
Regular visitation is on Saturdays and Sundays by appointment only.
Visitation slots are scheduled by phone, in 30 minute time slots.
Special visitation is reserved for parents, grandparents and guardians that are unable to attend regular visitation.
These visits may be granted on a case by case basis and will be scheduled outside of the normal visitation hours.
Special visits are scheduled by appointment only and must have pre-approval.
Visitors will be denied access to the facility if they are believed to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or are experiencing symptoms of illness.
Please call (208) 446-1900 to schedule a visitation
Yes, the facility Nurse works Monday through Friday. Please advise staff of any medical issues, including medication requirements, allergies or any special care instructions.
Yes, the facility Clinician works Monday through Friday. The Clinician works with other agencies to help connect juveniles with services when necessary and conducts risk assessments. Formal Counseling is not conducted.
Juveniles may receive mail and are given 2 stamps per week if they wish to send mail. Additional stamps can be brought in for them if desired. A return address is required and must include full name and address of sender.
Example of addressing mail:(Name of Juvenile)c/o Juvenile Detention CenterP.O. Box 9000Coeur d'Alene, ID 83816
In most cases, a juvenile who successfully completes the Diversion program will not have any formal Court record. However, if a police report was generated, both the Police Department as well as the Kootenai County Prosecuting Attorney’s Office will have records of the juvenile’s involvement in the case. The Prosecuting Attorney’s Office also maintains records of the juvenile’s participation in the Diversion program.
No information concerning a juvenile’s participation in the Diversion program is made public. Diversion records are confidential and are not disseminated to other entities. As a component of supervision Diversion Officers do confirm and discuss a juvenile’s attendance and progress with school personnel and law enforcement. Additionally, with consent from parents/legal guardians, Diversion Officers also discuss cases with counsellors, therapists, and other treatment providers in order to monitor compliance with the conditions of Diversion.
There are no travel restrictions for juveniles on Diversion. All conditions continue to apply to juveniles travelling out of state including the requirement to check in with their Diversion Officer on a weekly basis. Juveniles on Diversion who have been travelling may be required to take a drug and alcohol test upon their return.
Diversion does not provide any referrals to any specific community service sites. Community Service work must be performed with/for a non-profit organization, however Diversion accepts hours worked for ANY non-profit in the community. Options include churches, senior centers, community centers, libraries, schools, parks and recreation departments, the humane society, thrift stores, and social service providers. Working for a private employer/business for no wages does NOT constitute community service.
Being on Diversion does not, in and of itself, specifically prohibit a juvenile from obtaining their Driver’s License. However, in rare cases, a juvenile’s ability to drive may be impacted by conditions of Diversion specific to their case when appropriate. In the event that a particular juvenile has a restriction or is otherwise prohibited from obtaining their license as a part of a separate Court order or condition, the juvenile will need to address this situation with the appropriate legal authority.
There is no condition of Diversion that specifically prohibits a juvenile from seeking, obtaining, or maintaining employment, and in general juveniles who have the permission of their parent/legal guardian to have a job will be encouraged to do so as there are many positive benefits to being employed. It is also important to realize that a juvenile on Diversion is responsible to pay certain fees and may have restitution; having a way to earn money in an appropriate fashion is a great way for the juvenile to both take responsibility for their situation and also experience the sense of empowerment and other pro-social benefits that come with gainful employment. However, employment must be appropriate and cannot interfere with the juvenile successfully completing the conditions of Diversion.
It is important that both the juvenile as well as at least one parent/legal guardian be present for the initial meeting with Diversion. While this is the minimum, we encourage both parents/guardians to be present as this meeting covers not only the conditions, rules, and requirements of Diversion, but also serves as an important opportunity for us to meet you and begin to establish a rapport with you and your family. We do ask that young children are not brought to the meeting as it typically lasts for about an hour.
Kootenai County Juvenile Diversion offers a number of groups and programs, some of which are open to participation for juveniles in the community who are not involved in the juvenile justice system. Primary among these programs is the Project Towards No Drug Abuse prevention program. Kootenai County Juvenile Diversion takes juveniles from the community for involvement in these programs through referral from schools, law enforcement, community organizations, and in some cases by direct referral from the parent. If you are interested in learning more about these programs and the opportunity for juveniles to participate in these programs please contact Kootenai County Juvenile Diversion at 208-446-1970.
The Assessor's Office has parcel maps covering all properties in Kootenai County. The maps are filed first by township, then by range, then by section, and lastly by quarter section. These maps are available for your viewing at our office at 451 Government Way in Coeur d'Alene from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.
There are numerous parcel maps covering the County. They show the parcel numbers for each property. To determine which map shows your property, we would need that parcel number or a legal description to locate it on the map. To help locate and identify ownership of a parcel, our office also has a large wall map of Kootenai County and wall maps for the cities of Coeur d'Alene, Post Falls, and Rathdrum.
The parcel maps and wall maps may also be used to help determine ownership of properties other than your own. You may also go to the web page for the Mapping Division under the Assessor Home Page. The Mapping page will direct you to the Parcel Maps. For more information, contact the Assessor at 208-446-1500.
The Assessor's Office can make photocopies of portions of the parcel maps at no cost to you. The full sized parcel maps may be purchased at the Assessor's Office of our building at 451 Government Way in Coeur d'Alene. The maps measure approximately 17 inches by 24 inches and cost $2 each. When requesting a map, please specify the Section, Township, and Range of the map you need. In many cases you will also need to specify the quarter section of the particular section map (northeast quarter, northwest quarter, southwest quarter, or southeast quarter). The Assessor's Office can help you identify the map you wish to purchase.
For more information about maps contact the Kootenai County Information Center at 208-446-1500.
Nothing. As a landowner having an address associated with overland mail delivery, no changes will result from the issuance of the Marine Response Identification Number. Marine Identification Numbers (PDF) simply provide a uniform way of establishing the ability of emergency responders with a way to identify and locate your property from the water in the event of an emergency.
The new Marine Identification Number (PDF) will become effective on November 1, 2009.
As a landowner having an address associated with overland mail delivery, no changes will result from the issuance of the Marine Response Identification Number (PDF).
Where a Marine Response Identification Number is used, the number shall be posted on a pier, dock, or other waterfront appurtenance, no less than four feet nor more than six feet above the ground or high water line. The sign must be clearly readable to emergency providers arriving by boat. For more information, contact Community Development at 208-446-1070.
The identification number sign shall be, no less than four feet nor more than six feet above the ground on a substantial, maintained support structure. The view of the identification numbers from the water must be unobstructed and maintained. All primary letters, numbers, and symbols shall be a minimum of 3 1/2 inches in height, with a one-half inch stroke, and shall contrast with the background color. Contact Community Development at 208-446-1070 for more information.
A Marine Response Identification Number (PDF) is used to identify parcels of land along waterfront property. The Marine identification Number is not used as an address; rather it is for emergency assistance. The dispatchers would be able to cross reference the parcel address and the Marine identification number and send a water craft for a faster emergency response time. For further questions, contact Community Development at 208-446-1070.
A Marine Address is a number assigned to waterfront property that is accessible only by water. The Marine Address can be used for U.S. Postal Service delivery as well as for emergency assistance.
Posting of Marine Identification numbers only requires the "numbers" be posted (just like house numbers). Do not post the entire address.
Idaho Code 31-3510(A) provides that if a county or the state provides any financial assistance to pay for medical services, the applicant shall be obligated to reimburse the county and the State Catastrophic Health Care Cost Program for such reasonable portion as the Board of County Commissioners may determine the applicant is able to repay over a reasonable period of time. Please click on this link, Liens and Reimbursement for more information.
Yes. Idaho Code 31-3504(4) provides that:
"Upon application for financial assistance an automatic lien shall attach to all real and personal property of the applicant and on insurance benefits to which the applicant may become entitled." The lien shall also attach to any additional resources to which it may legally attach not covered.
For more information, contact County Assistance at 208-446-1886.
Yes, per Idaho Code 31-3505(D). You may appeal a denial of your application by filing a written Notice of Appeal with the Board of County Commissioners (this can be filed in the office of County Assistance). Your Notice of Appeal must be filed within 28 days of the date of the initial determination. If you do not file this appeal timely, the decision of the Board is final. There is no cost to file an appeal.
Please be advised that the provider (doctor or hospital) has the legal right to file an appeal on its own behalf if your application is denied and they may pursue the appeal, even if you choose not to. If an appeal is timely filed, a hearing will be scheduled before the Board of County Commissioners and you will receive a notice from this office giving you the time, date and place of the hearing. You have the right to appear at the hearing and be heard by the Board regarding the denial of your application.
State law requires payment within 60 days of Board of Kootenai County Commissioners approval. Contact County Assistance for more information.
In general, if you have a serious medical condition you will not be excluded from Mental Health Court. You must be willing to fully disclose your condition and medical care to the treatment providers and Mental Health Court team. If you are taking a prescribed medication for your condition, you must continue to do so. Although we can be flexible and work around your condition, you must be able to engage in and complete treatment. For further information, contact us at 208-446-1219.
As a general rule, Mental Health Court participants are expected to be drug free, including the unauthorized use of prescription medication.
If your doctor prescribes medication, you must bring in the prescription to your probation officer as well as the drug testing facility. You will then sign a release so that your probation officer can verify the prescription. While in Mental Health Court, you must use one doctor or one dentist and one pharmacy. We also require that you notify the medical professional of your addiction and that you request non-narcotic pain medications when a prescription is being recommended. For further questions, contact Mental Health Court at 208-446-1219.
You will be required to participate fully in the program to graduate from Mental Health Court. This will include:
Contact the Mental Health Court at 208-446-1219 for more information.
If you need to travel outside Kootenai County, you must first contact your probation officer to request permission to leave. As a condition of travel, the probation officer my require you to submit to a drug test prior to leaving and immediately upon return. Another condition may be that a treatment group not be missed. If a treatment group would be missed, further permission from your treatment provider would be required. Call Mental Health Court at 208-446-1219 for any follow-up questions.
Any further questions about sanctions should be directed to the Mental Health Court office at 208-446-1219.
Contact us at 208-446-1219 for any other questions regarding drug screening.
You may relapse during this program, but that just means you have more work to do. It does not necessarily mean, however, that you will be terminated from the program. The Mental Health Court team understands that addiction is a devastating disease which consumes you. All we ask is that you are honest and tell us if it happens. That way the team can make sure the program is fitting your needs, or if you need something different or something more.
Contact the Mental Health Court Coordinator for any concerns you may have.
If you are terminated from Mental Health Court you will appear before the assigned District Judge for possible imposition of sentence and service of the remainder of your prison sentence in the state penitentiary.
You can reach out to Mary Wolfinger at 208-446-12189 for more information.
Participants of the Mental Health Court should maintain group accountability by reporting any rule violations. If one client knows that another client is breaking the rules and doesn't report it, both clients could be sanctioned including loss of phase points. Contact Mary Wolfinger at 208-446-1219 for more information.
Some of the standard conditions of probation in Mental Health Court are as follows:
Contact the Mental Health Court Coordinator for more information.
Yes. You may access the Idaho statute at the Idaho Legislature website.
Idaho State law states that it is the responsibility of the land owner to control the noxious weeds on their property. Contact Noxious Weed Control at 208-446-1290 for more information.
The land owner(s) or homeowner's association is responsible for controlling the noxious weeds in these areas. For more questions, contact Noxious Weed Control at 208-446-1290.
Noxious weeds are non-native plants that were brought into Idaho through human actions. Because they grow aggressively and have no natural enemies in our area, these species of plants can be destructive to wildlife habitat, competitive with crops and difficult to control. Legally, a noxious weed is any plant designated by a Federal, State or county government as injurious to public health, agriculture, recreation, wildlife or property. Some characteristics of noxious weeds include:
Learn more on our Weeds page.
Most of these weeds came from Europe and Asia and were transported to the United States with the colonists who brought many plants and seeds species when they came to the United States. Accidental transport occurred in the ballast of ships, in the fleece and hair of livestock, in clothing, and as contaminants in agricultural seed. Other weeds came in as medicine, dyes and ornamental plants. A portion of the noxious weeds were intentionally introduced for use in agriculture, landscaping, erosion control and for sale in the nursery trade. Contact Noxious Weed Control at 208-446-1290 for more information.
Is your property being maintained? If so, spotted knapweed will not take hold in a property that is being watered, fertilized and mowed. Do you live within the city limits? Most cities have ordinances for vegetation height that are stricter than the state weed law. Contact the Code Enforcement Officer in your city. Do you live in a subdivision/neighborhood with covenants? Many homeowner associations have stricter rules than the state weed law and can have properties maintained within a subdivision at a cost to the owner.
Homeowner associations can notify property owners (both local and "absentee") about weed control and some will have the maintenance done and then send them a bill. Most people will voluntarily take appropriate action once they become aware of the problem. If there is a property within Kootenai County that is infested and the owner is not controlling noxious weeds then the County weed control can respond to official complaints. Contact the Noxious Weed Control department for more information.
When spotted knapweed gets high and dry, it looks bad. Spraying doesn't solve the problem because it's usually too high and too hot to spray. We will gladly do an inspection and inform your neighbor that according to Idaho State Law it is the responsibility of the homeowner to control noxious weeds on their property. This office supports mowing as a control and containment method (which is supported in the State law), but we cannot make people spray their weeds (landowner rights). Also, mowing needs to be done when it's safe, once the weather has cooled and/or rain has relieved the dry conditions.
Learn more on our Managing Your Land or Noxious Weeds pages.
It is common to use adjuvant/surfactants mixed with herbicides. These products, sometimes call spreader-stickers, increase the success of the treatment. They do this by improved penetration, increasing coverage, and extra absorption on the plants being sprayed. Some common brand names are R-11, R-900 and Sylgard 309.
If there are any questions about the use of a chemical product, please call your local weed control agency for instructions.
Herbicides are powerful tools, so they must be used according to label directions. Unfortunately, herbicides are used too often as the only control method. Herbicides can be one component of a good management plan. You can find more information from our Publications. Other methods include:
Yes. Please call our office or submit the Investigation Request from this website. We will be happy to set up a site visit with you. We will discuss the different weeds you have and how to control them.
No, the county does not sell herbicide, nor does it give herbicide to private landowners. Peruse our Resources list for local helpful resources.
Letting noxious weeds take over your property does not leave your land natural. Noxious weeds will eventually replace all native vegetation if the land is not managed correctly. Learn more on our Managing Your Land page.
Idaho State Department of Agriculture defines Early Detection and Rapid Response (EDRR) as finding invasive plant species during the initial stages of colonization and then responding within the same season to initiate eradication of the invasive plant species. Please see the list of EDRR weeds on the Weeds page. If you see any of the weeds on that list, please report it as soon as possible to the Kootenai County Noxious Weeds Control Office so we can positively identify it, map its location, and assist you in eradicating it.
Some County launches require a fee, visit our Boat Launch Fees page for more information. View list of launches.
A fee is not required to park at a County boat launch; however you cannot park in a "vehicles with trailer only" space unless you are towing a boat trailer. Contact us at 208-446-1275 for more information.
A fee is not required to launch without a trailer; however you cannot park in a "vehicles with trailer only" space. Contact us at 208-446-1275 for further information.
Parking and moorage is limited to 48 hours in a 72 hour period. Any more questions on parking or mooring can be directed to the Parks and Waterways department at 208-446-1275.
The Idaho State Parks pass is only valid at State owned facilities; not County managed launches. Learn more on our Boat Launches page.
In order to request a change to Kootenai County Waterways Ordinance or other matters affecting a public waterway, one of the following conditions must apply:
A permanent underwater hazard is present on a public waterway and should be marked for the safety of the general boating public. Examples: submerged rock formations, sandbars, or other permanent natural structures, which could cause damage too persons or vessels.
Marinas with twenty-five (25) or more slips, which provide services to the public such as moorage, fuel, and other services.
Public or “semi-public” swim areas located in high traffic boating areas where more than fifty (50) swimmers may be present. “Semi-public” swim areas may include Boy/Girl Scout camps, church camps, and other 501-C3 non-profit organizations that allow the general public to attend programs and utilize swim area.
Unique conditions are present that create a significant hazard to public safety, as determined by the Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office. Requests shall include a signed letter from the Sheriff’s Office to the Board of County Commissioners stating the specific recommendation, to include supporting accident and citation data relevant to the request.
1. If the request meets one of the approved conditions, you need to contact the Parks and Waterways Department to request that your item be placed on the next Waterways Advisory Board meeting agenda. (208)446-1275 or firstname.lastname@example.org
2. The requesting party is required to attend the Waterways Advisory Board meeting to present the request. Presentations are limited to five-minutes. Information relevant to your request, such as maps, photos or other materials, should be submitted by email (email@example.com) at least five business days in advance of the meeting.
3. The Waterways Advisory Board will make a recommendation on the request to the Board of County Commissioners. This will occur in a meeting with the Commissioners, which is typically scheduled within two-weeks of the Waterways Advisory Board meeting.
4. In cases where the request involves placement of buoys for a privately owned marina or “semi-public” swim area, the requesting party will be responsible for all costs associated with the activity, and will be required to enter into an agreement with the County for long-term maintenance costs.
The Idaho Department of Lands permits the installation of docks on navigable waters within the State of Idaho. For encroachment permit applications, contact their office at:3706 Industrial Avenue SCoeur d'Alene, ID 83815Phone: 208-769-1577.
The boater safety course is not required, however you are encouraged to learn about boater safety. Access more information from the Idaho Parks and Recreation Department.
Kootenai County Parks and Waterways does not have jurisdiction over private water use. The responsibilities of our department include maintaining safe and navigable waterways, boating access (public launches and docks), providing marine pump-outs on area lakes, and the maintenance and improvement of various parks and trails in Kootenai County. To contact North Kootenai Water District call 208-687-6593.
Lake Coeur d'Alene is a natural lake with a restricted outlet. The Post Falls Dam located nine miles downstream of the outlet on the Spokane River does not affect the lake's outlet flow capacity. During the spring and winter, when inflows exceed the natural outlet flow capacity the lake rises. When inflows are less than the natural outlet flow capacity, the lake level falls.
Typically, Avista maintains the lake at summer elevation after runoff through the first part of September. Avista attempts to lower the lake 7.5 feet by the end of January each year. Depending upon the weather, Lake Coeur d'Alene is on free flow discharge from January until after runoff. The level reached (both low and high level) depends entirely upon precipitation and temperature.For more information on water levels in Kootenai County visit the following sites:
You do not need to sign a criminal complaint if you report a crime. However, the officer may ask you to sign a copy of the citation if you desire to make a citizen's arrest or if you witnessed a misdemeanor crime. For more questions, contact the Prosecuting Attorney at 208-446-1800.
The defendant receives a copy of the complaint from the court after a criminal complaint is filed. The defendant is required to be present at a first after the prosecutor receives a copy of the complaint. At the first appearance, an attorney is appointed if the defendant cannot afford an attorney. A trail date is set within six months.
For a felony crime, a preliminary hearing date is set after the first appearance. The victim and certain other witnesses may be required to appear at the preliminary hearing. The State needs to only establish probable cause at the preliminary hearing, and if done, the magistrate judge sends the case to the highest court (District Court) for a trial within six months.
Any more questions should be directed to the Prosecuting Attorney at 208-446-1800.
The prosecutor will only "plea bargain" if this results in a "bargain" for the victim and the citizens. For instance, the prosecutor may dismiss one criminal count if the defendant pleads guilty to another similar count. This may occur if the punishment will be the same whether the defendant pleads to one count or multiple counts.
A plea bargain often means the victim will not need to testify. It also means a speedier disposition of the case. Generally, the prosecutor is reluctant to plea bargain cases which involve children, violence, and repeat offenders. The victim will always be consulted prior to a plea bargain. The sad reality is that many cases are forced to be plea bargained because there are insufficient judges, courtrooms, prosecutors, defense counsel and money to take thousands of criminal cases to trial annually. In 2004, over 1200 felony cases and over 3,000 misdemeanor cases were filed.
Contact the Prosecuting Attorney Office at 208-446-1800 with any further questions.
If your case enters the criminal justice system, the prosecutor can ask the judge that the defendant have no contact with the victim and other persons. Victims of personal acquaintance and family violence can also go to the criminal clerk in the courthouse to obtain a "No Contact Order". No lawyer is needed to obtain this order. Contact us at 208-446-1800 for any more questions.
You should contact the Victim-Witness Coordinator or the Domestic Violence Advocate at the Kootenai County Prosecutor's Office at 446-1800, if you need assistance in obtaining a No Contact Order. Generally, you will be asked to state the reasons under oath that you need protection.
Public Defenders are attorneys appointed by the court. If you are out of custody, you may fill out and submit an application to the Kootenai County Court Clerk, 324 W Garden Ave, Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814 for a Judge to review or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. If you are in custody, an application will be given to you by jail staff prior to your first appearance. You may also request the judge appoint counsel to represent you at your next court appearance.
The Court can appoint the Public Defender’s Office to represent indigent persons involved in mental commitment proceedings, child protection matters, termination of parental rights, and allegations of contempt of a civil judgment. Additionally, the office is sometimes appointed to represent those in post-conviction proceedings.
If you are being sued civilly, have immigration problems, are being evicted from your home, have a worker’s compensation claim, want a divorce, etc., you may qualify for assistance from other agencies. We do not handle those types of cases. Possible agencies include:
If the crime for which you have been charged carries a possible jail or prison sentence, the Public Defender can be appointed by the court to represent you.
No. Unfortunately, the services of the Public Defender are extended to only those who have been appointed an attorney by the court.
Definitely! All public defenders are members of the Idaho State Bar and are licensed to practice law in the state of Idaho. In order to be an attorney in the Kootenai County Public Defender’s office, applicants must go through a rigorous interview process to ensure that the person has the ability, knowledge, and commitment to practice criminal defense law. Public defenders throughout the state of Idaho must adhere to standards created by the Idaho Public Defense Commission, which are higher than privately retained attorneys.
Yes, our investigators will work as a team with you and your assigned attorney to assist in preparation of your case. Their job is to contact any witnesses and obtain evidence that may help demonstrate your innocence or promote any weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case against you. Frequently, it is the work of our investigators that help obtain not guilty verdicts or lighter sentences for clients.
If law enforcement questions you, it is essential to keep in mind Miranda warnings: “You have the right to remain silent; anything you say can be used against you in court; you have the right to an attorney; if you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for you.” State clearly that you wish to have an attorney present before and during any questioning. If law enforcement continues to question you after you have requested an attorney, repeat your request for an attorney and otherwise remain silent.
After a court appoints counsel to represent you, the office will assign an attorney to represent you—usually within 24 hours. Please contact our office at 208-446-1700 after you have been appointed counsel to schedule an appointment with your assigned attorney. Excluding national holidays, our office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00p.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 8:00 a.m. to 12:00p.m. 1:00p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Friday.
Our receptionists will be more than happy to tell you when your next court appearance is by contacting our office at 208-446-1700. Your attorney will also mail you notice of your upcoming hearings to the address provided on your Application for Public Defender. It is imperative that you let your attorney know if your mailing address or phone number has changed.
Alternatively, you may also lookup your case by using Idaho’s iCourt Portal. The iCourt portal provides the status of court cases, including hearings, in the State of Idaho.
If your friend or family member is arrested, and you are trying to get information, the most important thing you can tell them is that while they are in jail, DO NOT discuss the facts of the case with anyone. Do not talk to the police. Do not talk to other inmates. Do not talk to your friends or family over the phone or over video conference. Only conversations a defendant has with his/her attorney are protected by the attorney-client privilege. Excluding conversations with an attorney, law enforcement and prosecutors review inmate phone calls and video visits. Except for conversations with a lawyer, ALL OTHER CONVERSATIONS AND VIDEO VISITS ARE RECORDED.
Conversations and written correspondence between you and our client are not confidential. It is imperative that you not discuss or correspond with your friend/relative about his or her case.
As criminal defense attorneys, our number one priority is to our client. Anything a client tells his/her attorney is confidential. Unless you are a witness or an alleged victim, without permission from the client, we will not discuss matters of your friend/relative’s case with you. Additionally, even if permission has been given by the client to discuss their case with you, it is within the discretion of the handling attorney as to whether they will discuss their client’s case with you.
If your friend or loved one is in custody, bail is typically set at a video arraignment. A Public Defender will be present at this hearing and argue for bail or release on our client’s behalf based upon the information the client provides. If they have been charged with a felony offense and are still in custody when the Public Defender assigns the case to an attorney, a motion to reduce bail will be filed on our client’s behalf. A reduction in bail will normally be argued again at the next available hearing.
The Recorder's Office records land documents to make them public record and is located in the Administration Building. The District Court Records Office is where the following documents are filed and is located in the Justice Building:
Recorder's office staff is not authorized to provide legal guidance or forms. We recommend you contact an attorney. You may also visit the Idaho Legal Aid Services website and the State of Idaho Judicial Branch website for further information.
These documents are available through Idaho Vital Records.
These documents are available through the District Court in the county where they were filed.
If you would like to change your name due to a marriage, please see our Marriage Information page. If the change is not related to a marriage, please visit the State of Idaho Judicial Branch website for downloadable forms and instructions.
You may visit our office to search the recorded land records in our public research room. We will provide instruction on the usage of our computer terminals, however, we are unauthorized to perform your research for you or interpret your search results. If you choose, you may hire a professional records research company (PDF).
Generally, we will accept a debit or credit cards. Passports are the exception. Please view the following and how payment can be accepted:
Please contact the Assessor's Office.
You may search the Assessor's Office database.
Please contact the Idaho Secretary of State.
You may contact the city in which you are planning to sell, or you may contact Panhandle Health District 1.
According to Idaho Statute Title 39, a marriage license does not become public record until 50 years after the date of marriage. However, members of the wedding party may appear in our office and receive certified copies of his or her marriage license, as long as they have identification. Requests can also be made by calling the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Boise. Vital Statistics can be reached at 208-334-5980, or you can visit their website.
Any person recognized as an ordained minister by a reputable church can legally perform a marriage ceremony.
No. If there is any question regarding the legitimacy of your officiant, they will be personally contacted by the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
In order to change your name, you must take your identification and a certified copy of your marriage license to several places:
There is no time limit when it comes to changing your name.
Marriage licenses are issued on a first come, first serve basis from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
No. A couple is married once an officiant has performed a marriage ceremony. The couple is legally married after said ceremony.
No. You must get married in the state where you received your marriage license, but you can get married in any county in that state.
No. The marriage license must be returned to the county that issued it to the couple.
Your marriage license does not expire. It may be used any time after it is issued. However, we recommend applying within a year of your wedding date.
According to Idaho Code, any person applying for a marriage license who is either 16 or 17 years old must be no less than 2 years younger than his or her partner. They must also be given written, notarized consent by his or her mother, father, or guardian to marry. Furthermore, the minor applicant must submit his or her certified birth certificate as proof of age and relationship to the guardian. Any person under the age of 16 must do the same, as well as receive a court order to marry. All persons involved must appear at the county Recorder’s Office with all described documentation and social security numbers before a license can be issued. Applicants and guardians must also present government issued photo identification.
The officiant is required to return the marriage license to the county Recorder's office that issued the license within 30 days after the marriage takes place. It is a misdemeanor if the officiant does not return the license in the allotted time. (Idaho Code Section 32-402). If the officiant does not return the license, the couple is still legally married, but the county recorder cannot issue a certified copy to the couple because it was never returned.
Both members of the marriage party must submit a "letter of intent" to the Kootenai County Jail before the Recorder's Office can begin the marriage license process. Once these are received at the jail, a recording clerk will visit the jail to complete paperwork with the incarcerated party. Then the second applicant will visit the Recorder's Office to complete his or her portion of the paperwork. It is then the responsibility of the applicants to coordinate with an officiant and schedule a ceremony.
Divorce and annulment papers are filed in the District Court building's Records department. This is located at:324 W Garden AvenueCoeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Any business that processes film will take your passport photos. Local options include:
If the photo sent with your application is destroyed or lost when being processed, Passport Services will request your second picture. Please keep your extra photos in a safe place until you receive your passport in the mail.
No. Your application is sent from our office to Passport Services, and they will only accept a check or a money order for your passport fee. You must have a separate check or money order for each application being submitted through our office.
No. Renewal applications are sent by the applicant, not through an Acceptance Agency. Customers are welcome to visit our office if they would like an agent to review his or her application before it is sent to Passport Services at:451 Government WayCoeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Yes. Everyone applying for a passport must be present when the application is submitted.
Both parents must be present with their child at the time of application if the child is 15 years old or younger. If one parent is unable to appear during the application process, the non-applying parent can complete a DS-3053 form ("Statement of Consent: Issuance of a U.S. Passport to a Minor Under Age 16"). This form must be signed in front of a notary and submitted by the applying parent at the time of application, along with a front and back copy of the non-applying parent's identification. Minors who are 16 or 17 are required to apply with one parent present.
A passport card allows a person to travel to another country by land or by sea. For example: if you are driving to Canada, Mexico, or going on a cruise. It does not allow a person to travel by air. A passport book allows a person to travel by air, land, and sea. If you are flying, you must have a passport book.
The Idaho Star Card does not allow a person to travel internationally. It is only good for domestic flight. You cannot travel to Canada or Mexico with the Star Card.
Bringing in your own front and back copies of documentation at the time of application will speed up the process. However, if you are unable to make copies, the acceptance agent can make copies for you in our office.
Yes. Passport Services requires the original birth certificate or a certified copy of the certificate be submitted with the passport application. It must have a state seal as well as the applicant's parental information. Passport Services will mail the certificate back to the customer after his or her application is processed.
The office is closed on weekends.
We are not allowed to hold on to your documentation because it has your personal information included within its contents.
Certified copies of birth certificates are issued by the Vital Statistics in the state where you were born. View contact information for the Vital Statistics holding your birth certificate (PDF).
Applicants 16 years or older who have had a passport before do not need to submit a copy of their birth certificate with the application. The previous passport will be used as proof of citizenship in its place. Those applicants 15 years old and younger need to submit his or her old passport, as well as a photo copy of the birth certificate to show parental relationship.
Yes. Passport services will accept cashier's checks, personal checks, or money orders for their fee.
No. The picture is to be stapled as diagramed on the application. An acceptance agent will attach the photo for you when you apply for your passport.
Open your passport to the page with your information and picture on it. Staple through your passport to the second page of your application, in the bottom right corner. Close the passport and secure it to the second page further with a paperclip. If you visit our office to have the renewal application reviewed before you send it off, an acceptance agent will attach the passport for you.
The passport fee is the same whether you are renewing or a new applicant. However, because renewals are sent by the customer, these applicants do not have to pay the separate $35 processing fee.
Barricades are installed on December 15th each year per a written agreement with the U.S. Forest Service. Barricades cannot be installed before December 15th. Barricades are installed at the Bunco Rd. parking area, Fernan Saddle, Fourth of July Pass parking area and Hayden Creek. Barricades are removed when grooming operations have ended for the season, which is determined by snow depth at the trailheads and must be no later than April 15th per the agreement.
Eight to ten inches of snow is necessary to prevent damage to the track systems, and twelve inches of snow is necessary to prevent damage to equipment implements, per manufacturer recommendations.
The Snow Groomer program is funded with a percentage of state snowmobile registration and department salaries are paid by the County using other funding.
- Bunco Road
- 4th of July Pass - Interstate 90
- LOWER Fernan Hill parking area, directly across from the Fernan Gun Range.
The Forest Service owned parking lot at Bunco is plowed by Lakes Highway District as time and resources allow. The parking lot at 4th of July is owned and plowed by Idaho Transportation Department as time and resources allow. LOWER Fernan Hill parking area, directly across from the Fernan Gun Range, is intermittently plowed as time and resources allow.
The Snow Groomer department provides groomed snowmobile trails, located in Kootenai County and parts of Shoshone County, in the Coeur d’Alene National Forest. The Snow groomer program does not provide towing and recovery services, road maintenance, plowing, trash removal, or restroom maintenance at facilities owned by the Forest Service.
The Kootenai County Snow Grooming Department does not select or decide which trails are groomed. Trail grooming routes are selected by the citizen Snowmobile Advisory Board with input from the Forest Service, Kootenai County Sheriff Office, Idaho State Parks and Recreation, the Coeur d’Alene Snowmobile Club.
Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation
Kootenai County Vehicle Licensing - Coeur d'Alene and Post Falls
Kootenai County Snowgroomer Department: (208) 446-1289
- Trail Maps
- Trail Grooming Operations
- Program Administration
Kootenai County Sherriff Office: (208) 446-1300
- State and Local Rules and Laws
- Reporting Accidents
- Vehicles Blocking Groomed Snowmobile Trails
- Search and Rescue Activities
Idaho State Parks and Recreation: (208) 769-1511
- State Snowmobile Registration
- Avalanche Safety Training
•Forest Service: (208) 769-3000
Report issues with any of the following:
- Forest Service Roads
- Downed Trees
- Shelters/Warming huts
No. Kootenai County only provides transfer stations, landfill services and rural residential collection sites. You must contact a private hauling company to pick up your garbage from your home or business.
The transfer stations are open to the general public seven days a week. The entry gates open at 8 a.m. and close at 4:55 p.m. We request that everyone have their vehicles unloaded and out of the facilities by 5 p.m. daily.
A transfer station is a facility where waste is separated and processed for either recycling or shipment to a landfill.
The Ramsey Transfer Station is located at:3330 N Ramsey RoadCoeur d'Alene, ID 83815
The closest cross streets are Appleway (to the south) and Kathleen Avenue (to the north). Watch for the signs in the center median on Ramsey Road.The Prairie Transfer Station is located at:15580 W Prairie AvenuePost Falls, ID 83854
The closest intersection is N Pleasantview Road and Prairie Avenue. The public entrance to the transfer station is just east of the intersection.
The following companies provide garbage collection services in Kootenai County.
No. The facility at Ramsey Road is an active transfer station but also a closed landfill (closed in 1993). All garbage from our transfer stations is placed into trailers and hauled to the Fighting Creek Landfill, located on Highway 95, south of Coeur d'Alene.
Residential property owners in Kootenai County pay an annual solid waste fee. This allows residents to dispose of waste from a private household generated from day-to-day living.
Transfer Stations Guidelines: The payment of the fee allows residents to dispose of up to 2,000 pounds of household waste and yard debris associated with their residential property for free per trip.
(Note: Loads weighing greater than 2,000 lbs are subject to charges. All loads of roofing and tires on rims are charged to everyone). Please refer to the Fee Structure Page for more details.
Rural Residential Sites Guidelines: These sites are not transfer stations and have limited disposal containers available; residential customers are allowed to dispose of up to 1 cubic yard of waste generated from their household from day-to-day living. Large bulky items (such as furniture, appliances, etc), wood debris, tires, household hazardous waste, and loads larger than 1 cubic yard, must be taken to a transfer station.
No. The landfill is not designed to handle traffic from the general public. All garbage is unloaded from the transfer trailers directly into the active landfill refuse area. All landfill access is designed for heavy equipment and semi-trucks.
Kootenai County operates a rural collection system for general residential household garbage. There are 12 different locations throughout the county which have refuse containers for the use and convenience of our rural residents. For limitations on what is accepted at these rural sites, please refer to the Rural Collection page. The rural sites are NOT for disposal of any commercial waste.
The annual solid waste fee supports the operations of the entire department. This includes the landfill, two full-service transfer stations, and 12 rural residential collection sites.
The intent of the residential solid waste fee is for normal household waste, created by day to day residential living. The fee is based on a residential lifestyle that creates normal waste not to exceed ninety-six (96) gallons per week per household.
The following are examples of waste not covered under the residential solid waste fee:
These wastes and others materials may be subject to additional charges.
Both transfer stations have year-round Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) collection sites. The Ramsey Transfer Station in Coeur d'Alene has collection days on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. The Prairie Transfer Station in Post Falls has collection days on Fridays and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Please wait for a technician to assist you at the HHW collection area. Do not leave your materials outside the gates. No hazardous waste can be collected at any other time besides the designated collection dates and times. This service is for residential customers only; NO commercial hazardous waste is allowed. There is a 10 gallon limit per collection day per collection site. If you would like more information on this program, please refer to the Household Hazardous Waste section.
Certainly there are more materials capable of being recycled than what is collected through the Kootenai County recycling programs. However, the key to successful programs is locating markets first, and then establishing collections.
Idaho, unlike Washington or Oregon, does not mandate recycling. States with mandated requirements of waste reduction and recycling have attracted both large and small processors and end users to their areas. These companies are assured a flow of materials due to the state mandates and taxpayer subsidies. Idaho does not have any such mandates or industries at this time. We ship our materials to distant markets and are therefore subject to the high costs of shipping.
The disposal of Asbestos is governed by the EPA. There are specific requirements that must be met before the disposal of Asbestos can take place. There are specific forms that must accompany each and every load that is brought for disposal. Please see the Asbestos Policy and Procedures (PDF) for further details.
The Solid Waste Department provides guided tours of the landfill and transfer station facilities. Please contact the administration office at 208-446-1430 to make arrangements for tours.
If the building is greater than 400 square fee, a report from an asbestos remediation company verifying that there is no asbestos in the waste must be obtained. Verification paperwork is available from any scale house, the administration office and can be printed here. If the proper asbestos-free paperwork can not be obtained, the waste will be deemed asbestos contaminated and must follow all proper disposal protocol, found here.
You may dispose of animals weighing less than 100 pounds at either of the transfer stations. Notify the scale house operator when you enter the facility and they can make arrangements for proper disposal.
Disposing of animals greater than 100 pounds involves making arrangements with the landfill staff at least 24 hours in advance. The transported animal must first travel to a transfer station to be weighed and have fees collected, then transported to the landfill for disposal. See the Fee Resolution for pricing options.
All taxes shown on personal property and manufactured housing are due and payable on demand. If no demand is made, the taxes may be paid in two equal halves. The first half is due and payable on or before December 20th, and the second half is due and payable on or before June 20th of the following year. If the first half is not paid on or before December 20th, that half becomes delinquent and the entire tax becomes due and payable. A Warrant of Distraint will be issued to the County Sheriff for collection. Full payment of all tax, late charge, warrant fees and interest is required to release the warrant. See Idaho Code 63-904 (2) and 63-1013
Property taxes are due each year on or before December 20th. If you choose to pay in two installments, the first half is due on or before December 20th with the second half due on or before June 20th of the following year. Subsequent billings may also be mailed in the event of a correction or late addition to the tax roll. If a structure is completed midyear or a personal property declaration is not received when due, a subsequent billing may result. See Idaho Code 63-903
Pay by Mail:
Make sure your envelope is postmarked on or before the due date. If mailing close to the deadline, we strongly suggest that you have your envelope postmarked at the postal counter rather than dropping it in the box, to be sure it is properly dated. Only payments with a USPS postmark on or before the due date will be accepted as on time. Please send the bill stub with your payment to help us process your taxes efficiently.
Pay in Person:
At the Treasurer's Office, 451 N Government Way, Coeur D Alene, Idaho. The office hours are 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday, excluding holidays. We accept checks, cashier's Checks, money orders and cash. There is also a drop box located outside our office door.
Pay by Internet or Phone:
A convenience fee of up to 3% of the total payment will be charged.
Credit Card Payment Options:
Pay On-line by credit card or e-check: www.kcgov.us
Pay by Phone using a credit card: Call 1-208-446-1005 and select option #3 from the phone directory. You will be asked to enter Jurisdiction code 2213 when paying by phone.
You will need to provide the bill number, amount being paid and the tax year you would like to pay.
If you are paying on a delinquent account, please call our office for the correct total at (208) 446-1005.
Credit card payment services are provided by a private vendor, and all fees associated with the transaction are paid by the tax payer. You will receive a confirmation number indicating that your transaction is complete.
A second half reminder notice will be mailed in May. Warrant of Distraint notices are mailed in May and August on Personal Property and mobile homes with delinquent balances. Failure to receive a bill does not excuse the taxpayer from paying taxes, late charge and interest accrued, if any. See Idaho Code 63-902
Late charge is 2% of the unpaid balance and is applied on December 21st. Interest is accrued beginning January 1 and the rate as directed by State Code is 1% per month. If the full tax is not paid by June 20th, interest on the unpaid tax will accrue from January 1st. If less than half the tax is received by December 20 interest will be applied to the unpaid balance beginning January 1st. See Idaho Code 63-201 (12) and 63-1001
The Tax Collector recommends that you do NOT use these services to pay property taxes. If you choose to use this method of payment make sure to schedule your payment date 10 business days in advance. The reason is the Internal Revenue Code 7502 states that the Tax Collector must process a payment, received after the delinquency date, as of the date of the United States Postal Services (USPS) postmark. Banking institutions use permit imprint presorted envelopes, which USPS does not post mark. In The absence of a postmark, we apply penalties based on the date we receive payment. See Idaho Code 63-217
Multiple accounts may be paid with one check. Also, multiple checks may be used to pay for one account, but the check amount(s) must equal the amount due and be sent together in one envelope. You may also send partial payments from multiple payees. Please include your payment stub when submitting your payment.
The prorating of property taxes between buyer and seller usually takes place during escrow. However, escrow may not always issue a payment to the Treasurer and Tax Collector, especially if escrow closes before the annual tax information is available, or before the second installment is due.
You should always check the status of your taxes before the delinquency dates, December 20th and June 20th.
It is important to note that the Annual Secured Property Tax Bill is mailed to the address recorded on the warranty deed. You should check the address listed on the top left corner of your warranty deed to confirm where your bill will be mailed.
When a property is delinquent three (3) years, it enters into the "Tax Deed" process. Typically, in May of each year, Kootenai County Tax Collector identifies all real properties that are three (3) years delinquent and generates a "Pending Issue of Tax Deed" letter to the recorded owner of those properties. This is their notice to either satisfy the most delinquent year (s) to bring the property to a minimum of two (2) years delinquent or have the property tax deeded to Kootenai County's name. The tax payer must pay the third-year delinquency in full to stop the Tax Deed Process. Partial payments will be accepted and applied at any time but will not stop the Tax Deed action until the third year delinquency is paid in full. See Idaho Code 63-1003 and 63-1005
You may challenge the taxable value of your property only during the month you receive your assessment notice. Assessment notices are mailed on or before the 1st Monday in June of each year and the appeal must be received by the Commissioner's Office by the 4th Monday of June. If you did not appeal the current year value in June, you must wait until the next year to appeal the assessed value.
If you feel that the levy of a taxing district is too high or you wonder what the levy pays for, call the district directly. The phone number of all of the taxing districts within Kootenai County can be found on your tax bill or assessment notice. You can have input regarding the annual levy rate of a taxing district by participating in the annual budget hearing of the districts.
All property owners receive a bill whether or not a mortgage company pays the taxes. Please verify with your mortgage company before paying any taxes due. If the payment is not received prior to the due date, late charges and interest will be added.
Partial payments toward real property delinquent taxes are accepted (any amount, any time) and are applied to taxes, and any costs, interest and late charges that may have been assessed proportionally.
Partial payments can be applied toward current year or future taxes on all property types. Any remaining balance may be paid according to the standard schedules and regulations for property tax collection.
Once any part of a personal property or manufactured home tax becomes delinquent, the unpaid portion of the entire tax shall immediately become due and payable.
Property tax relief is available through the Homeowner's exemption, State Circuit Breaker exemption, Hardship program, Property Tax Deferral Program and 100% Service connected Disabled Veterans Benefits. All programs are applied for in the Assessor's Office please contact their office for details.
There are a few reasons you may receive a second bill for your parcel.
1. If you built or bought a newly constructed home that was completed midyear, you may receive a subsequent occupancy bill. This bill will be in addition to the real property (land) bill already sent in November. This occupancy bill will be for the improvements made to the real property, (i.e the home). These subsequent bills are late additions to the tax roll. If you have a lender you will need to verify with them who is going to pay this bill. A Copy was not sent to them. These subsequent billings will notify you of their due dates.
2. If you own a business and own personal property with value over $100,000, you will receive a bill for Personal Property or Transient Property Tax. These bills will notify you of their due dates.